Skip to content

Vietnamese Salad

April 25, 2010

I’m dreaming of my kitchen lately. Dreaming of all the things I wish I had time to do. I miss having lots of time to cook which is funny because when I first went gluten free, I had to cook all my meals from scratch which felt like a chore. Yet from that demand I developed my passion for cooking. I miss spending all day in the kitchen, chopping, cooking, sautéing and creating. Seeing as how I have at least 1 more year of juggling working full time and getting my MBA at nights, I don’t see free time arriving anytime soon. This week I was craving my favorite dinner, Vietnamese Salad. I started making this a few years ago when I cooked for Sunshine. She loved this dish and not a week went by that she didn’t request this meal.  I love making this because it makes me think of her and her magical home in Vermont. It’s a fabulous dish to make because its has lots of protein, veggies and I always feel happy after I eat it. It’s also really easy to make so tonight I can focus on the huge finance presentation that I have tomorrow night (wish me luck). Goal for after my exam on May 4th, make gluten free tiramisu! I hope you enjoy this recipe. It makes 4 servings and packs well for lunch the next day if you keep the sauce on the side. Stay tuned in May for adventures with gf lady fingers and Tiramisu.

Salad:

salt to taste
1 package of vermicelli or mung bean noodles

1 lb shrimp grilled

Boston bibb lettuce leaves

chopped fresh mint

Chopped Scallion

English cucumber sliced into thick matchsticks

1 cup Dry roasted peanuts

Dipping Sauce:

4 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2 tbl sugar

5 tbl Asian fish sauce

½ tsp chili garlic sauce

½ lime juiced

1 ½ cups water

Bring a pot of water to a boil, salt it.  Add the vermicelli and stir well (see package for cooking time as it varies by brand). Turn of heat and let noodles sit until stands are tender. Drain. In a small bowl combine garlic, sugar, and 1 1/2 cup boiled water. Stir to dissolve sugar.  Add fish sauce and chili garlic sauce and lime juice. Stir and set aside. Grill the Shrimp.divide noodles, shrimp, lettuce, herbs and cucumber between 4 plates and top with peanuts.  Serve with sauce.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 7:50 pm

    That looks delicious! I really wish I had one of these salads right now!

Leave a Reply

