Skip to content

Gluten Free S’mores the Wait is Over

May 26, 2010

On a recent road trip to Vermont, Mark and I noticed a box of intriguing Kinnikinnick, S’moreables Graham Style Crackers, in a local market. Ever since I stopped eating gluten, I have missed graham crackers. They are perfect for piecrusts, snacks and let us not forget the summer treat, s’mores. While I have fashioned my own s’mores out of tortilla chips, chocolate and marshmallow, it’s creative but just isn’t the same.

For those of you who grew up with Honey Maid or other gluten full graham crackers, its time to get those products out of your head. We can have our gluten free version but they are going to be an exact match. S’moreables are great but their consistency is surprising if you are expecting the traditional consistency of a graham cracker. They are approximately ¼ the size of their gluten full counterparts and surprisingly hard to break in half. The texture is dry but the flavor is great with a little less sweetness than what you might expect. Would I eat them on their own like I would a traditional graham cracker? Probably not.

So what do you do with these S’moreables Graham Style Crackers? You make s’mores of course. Kinnikinnick recommends that you bake the marshmallow, graham crackers and chocolate in your oven for the desired results but I object. S’mores are meant to be enjoyed after carefully roasting the marshmallow to the golden perfection my dad taught me as a kid. You don’t need a fire pit in your back yard nor do you need to carry sticks into your house, you don’t even need an actual open flame to make this work.

Not having a gas stove, I decided we would roast the marshmallows under the oven’s electric broiler on chopsticks! Slowly we turned our gluten free approved Kraft Marshmallows on chop sticks under the electric broiler while Charlie the cat tried to jump in the oven. The marshmallows got melty before they were truly golden, however the exterior did harden slightly, producing that desired s’more marshmallow texture. We slid the marshmallow onto our chocolate-topped crackers, topped it with another cracker and tasted. Fabulous. Maybe its just been so many years since I had a s’more, but it was like I was back in the woods camping with my dad.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

