Skip to content

Crust-less Pumpkin Pie

November 22, 2010

Pumpkin Pie is one of the few pies I enjoy but given the cost of pre-made gf crusts and the labor of home made crusts, I usually avoid making pies. Last year, at a dinner party, a friend made a crust-less pumpkin pie. It was delicious, almost like a pumpkin custard, so I decided to add this to the Thanksgiving menu. Next time instead of making this in pie plate, I will use individual dessert cups. This pie is very easy, it takes about 10 min. to prepare.


Ingredients


3/4 cup turbindao sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
2 eggs
15 oz can of pumpkin (any brand)
12 oz evaporated milk


Prep:


Preheat oven to 375. Spray a pie plate (or small dessert cups) with canola oil. Beat the eggs in a small bowl. In a second bowl, combine sugar, spices and salt. Add the pumpkin and whisk. Add the eggs and whisk. Add the milk and whisk until blended. Pour into pie plate and bake for 45 min. The pie is done when it is firm and golden brown. Serve with whipped cream, sprinkle with confectioner sugar or enjoy plain.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 9:45 pm

    I think pumpkin pie really doesn’t need the crust. It usually ends up kind of soggy anyway. This sounds perfect!

    • November 22, 2010 9:54 pm

      Thanks Lynn. You are so right, the crust does get soggy doesn’t it! I can’t wait to try this recipe again with little dessert cups and sprinkle the tops with confectioner sugar. I think this will kick the recipe into fanciness.

  2. Sunflowerdiva permalink
    November 23, 2010 11:56 am

    Crust-less. This sounds actually perfect! Must try this sometime…. 😀

  3. November 23, 2010 1:46 pm

    I would have never come up with this, but this recipe sounds really, really good.

    • November 23, 2010 2:01 pm

      Thanks! It is super easy and tastes really good. My next plan is to try a crustless toll house pie. Stay tuned!

  4. November 23, 2010 5:01 pm

    Up here in Canada, we’ve had thanksgiving already. But I’m about to skip on downstairs to make that amazingly-sounding crustless pumpkin pie. Thanks for the recipe.

    http://bit.ly/b5dU8k

  5. November 23, 2010 6:48 pm

    Without the crust this would be really heavenly

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  6. November 24, 2010 3:37 pm

    Good day I was fortunate to search your subject in wordpress
    your post is brilliant
    I learn much in your topic really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really brilliant
    where can find it

  7. December 1, 2010 10:07 pm

    Sounds delish – do you think condensed milk would work instead of evaporated?

    • December 2, 2010 6:59 am

      I don’t know if condensed milk would work. Actually I was wary of even using the evaporated milk as I don’t use it often. I typically cook with more all natural products having been so restricted for so many years by my food allergies. Also every pumpkin pie recipe I have seen uses evaporated milk so I just went with that. The condensed might be too sweet. If you really want to use it, you may have to cut back on the sugar in the ingredients. The next time I makes this, I think I might try using cream instead and just slowly adding it so that it isn’t too soupy. Hope this helps. Enjoy and let me know how it works out if you do try the condensed milk.

Trackbacks

  1. Gluten-Free Thanksgiving « Gluten Free Table's Blog

Leave a Reply

