Skip to content

Gluten Free Beer

November 28, 2010

I hear so many people say they are upset about having to go gluten free because they love beer. Well you you don’t have to be upset anymore because there are a a number of awesome gluten free beers on the market. I thought Mark was ridiculous asking bar tenders if they carried gluten free beer but to our pleasant surprise, a number of bars are now carrying them in bottle if not on tap (Wild Colonial in Providence, RI and Publick House in Brookline, MA)

Most of the beers that I have encountered so far are all lagers. Personally I favored ale’s pre-celiac diagnosis but I adjusted and have come to really enjoy a cold gf beer at the end of a long day, with a bowl of chili or with friends after an afternoon of rock climbing. One serious plus for gf beer is you don’t get as bloated after drinking it. Even non-celiac’s agree.

The thing about gluten free beer is that I associate each brand with the friends who have discovered them for me. A special thanks goes out to these many friends who have gone in search of new gluten free beers for us. This summer, our friend Jonathan surprised us with a pint of  St. Peters Sorgham Beer.  Maybe I’m just swayed by the joy of drinking out of this elegant bottle but all friends present agreed it was a delightful pilsner lager. The company  says on its website that the beer has “aromas of citrus and mandarin from American Amarillo hops.” While our delicious St. Peter’s hails from across the pond, you can purchase it from Eurobrew, Inc of Ashland, MA

New Grist is my favorite of the gluten free lager beers. It is light but full of flavor and tastes like summer. It dances over my tongue. Some beers I orphan by mid bottle but I never let a New Grist go to waste. I discovered this beer in a random liquor store in Albany, NY with Mark and Jonathan. We went on a beer extravaganza that night having found 3 types of gluten free beer to sample. The second beer was Honey Beer, made by Ramapo Valley Brewery. This odd find was actually delightful. We were expecting a sicky sweet meed, but instead got a beer with undertones of honey. I wouldn’t drive all the way to Albany to purchase it but hey if you are celiac or celebrating Passover, this is an enjoyable option.

Bard’s tale was the first gluten free beer I ever had. Sarah, my Celiac sponsor in my first year of gluten free, showed up at our apartment with a six pack. Paired with homemade Chinese food, we enjoyed this light pleasantly flavored beer that had no bitter after taste.  Bard’s tale is tricky to find but worth the hunt. I really enjoy it on a summer afternoon. You can also following them on Twitter.






Another beer worth checking out is Redbridge by Anheuser-Busch. Mama G brings me Redbridge whenever she comes to visit. In fact tonight I am cooking up some beef carbonade with this light lager. Redbridge is a consistently decent beer. It is exactly what you would expect from the makers of Budweiser. There are no fruity subtle flavors. I can serve this to a room of people watching a football game and most wont even notice it says gluten free. It holds up well in cooking for chili, beef carbonade and other hearty stews and is becoming  easier and easier to find.

I assumed my days of ale were gone, but this past year I discovered Green’s. Sunshine found us this ale and it is fabulous. When I am able to find this, it is sold in single large bottles (about a pint). Naturally Gluten Free Double Dark Beer is my favorite. This is a thick dark beer that actually holds a head. I feel like it roles over my tongue hitting every taste bud. The flavor is a bold powerful brew. Some beers get boring by the end but Green’s is enjoyable up until the last drop.


These are the gluten free beers that I recommend. What beers have you tried that you enjoyed? Please share your comments.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 8:11 pm

    Well there is one more to add to your list. My favorite (so far :-)) is Green’s Dubbel Dark. Green’s is imported by Merchant du Vin from Belgium and can be found almost everywhere. Given your prior enjoyment of ale’s you will probably enjoy this beer as well. Green’s also makes an amber and tippel pale ale (blonde). It is a fun adventure for sure. The purpose of the Association is to further the brewing and availability of Gluten Free Beers so all GFree beer drinkers should add their names to the list at the Association website. We look forward to seeing you there! 🙂

  2. Sarah permalink
    November 28, 2010 8:15 pm

    New Grist is my favorite of the easy-to-find beers, too, but I am *really* excited to hear about Green’s!! My favorite pre-GF beers were Bass Ale & Newcastle Brown so I can’t wait to find Green’s & try it. And cooking with Redbridge is a great idea (duh! I can’t think why I didn’t think of it) – I think I’ll go dig up some of my recipes with beer in them; I’ve been avoiding making them because most of the GF beer is too hard to find, too delicious to cook with, or too expensive to dump in soups & stews but since Redbridge is easy to find & (relatively) affordable, it would be perfect! Thank you so much for the GF beer wrap-up – & for the mention. I was more than happy to bring you your first GF beer. That was a really fun, & really delicious, night!

    • November 29, 2010 7:52 am

      It was a fun night. As soon as this crazy semester is through, let’s find a time to hang out and drink more gluten free beer!

  3. November 30, 2010 12:42 pm

    Thanks for the mention in the article. The small brewers do not have the distribution network as the large brewers which makes it more challenging to get at more retail outlets. Bard’s has a beer locator on its website which can be searched by city, state and zip code.

    Thanks,
    Brian
    BARD’S TALE BEER CO.

  4. February 4, 2011 6:41 am

    That’s great! Here in Belgium, the real beer country, we can only find 2 types of gf beer!! That’s so sad,….:( !!!

    • February 4, 2011 7:15 am

      I am so surprised. I would have thought Belgium would be far more advanced with gluten-free beer. Any luck in other European countries?

  5. March 7, 2011 11:27 am

    Hi,

    My preference are:

    -St. Peters( easily the leader)
    -Green’s
    -Estrella Daura(made from wheat but no gluten! Tastes like a beer but not fancy)
    -Bard’s Tale
    -New Grist
    I find RedBridge undrinkable

    Rob

    • March 7, 2011 1:44 pm

      Hi Rob,

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I guess that is the great thing about having so many options out there these days. What works for one person doesn’t always work for others. I personally don’t consume anything that is sourced from wheat. My reaction is so bad I just can’t take the chance. I do love Bard’s and New Grist. St Peters and Greens are fabulous but very hard to find. If you find any new beers, please share them in the comments.

      Best,
      Rach

    • March 7, 2011 1:44 pm

      Rob,

      To make sure that everyone fully understands, Estrella Daura is NOT a gluten free beer. Estrella is a low gluten beer, big difference! For those that are sensitive, like my wife, there is too much gluten in Estrella Daura for her to drink. The rest should be fine and are completely up to your taste preference. It can depend on availability. St. Peter’s is not available where I live so for me, Green’s is my favorite so far. I am working on trying all commercially available gluten free beers. If you live in the center of the US, New Planet will soon be available to you.

Leave a Reply

