Skip to content

Friday Finds: Jo-Sef’s Chocolate O’s

December 3, 2010

O-O-O who’s that celiac with the almost Oreo cookie! This first post of Gluten Free Table’s Friday Finds is featuring Jo-Sef’s Chocolate O’s. Chocolate O’s are an awesome cookie. Of the gf sandwich cookies that I have tried, most get the cookie part right, but kind of fail at the cream center. With Jo-Sef’s the cream center tastes great and the chocolate cookies are tasty. I also like that it isn’t overly crisp and there is a real cocoa flavor that isn’t overly sweet.

For those of you like me, who were diagnosed later in life, you might have an Oreo cookie ritual. I would take a cookie, twist off the top lick the cream center, put the top back on and dunk it in milk. Sadly, other gf sandwich cookies break when you try to do this and the cream center is hard and flakes off.  Don’t get me wrong, I have enjoy the taste of most of the gf sandwich cookies but for me, Chocolate O’s are a cut above the rest. Part of eating the cookies is the fun of being a kid again and remembering to enjoy the simplest moments in life like savoring an Oreo cookie.

This post would not be possible without my big brother Jason who brought me a box of Chocolate O’s last week. Jason, is the Assistant Director of Camps Kenwood & Evergreen in NH. The camp is incredibly food allergy friendly so they have a number of celiac kids. While Jas doesn’t have celiac’s he is always telling me about new gluten free products that he finds for his camp kids. His gift of these cookies has inspired me to start a new section on the blog called Friday Finds. It is my answer to the rut that everyone (not just celiac’s) fall into with food products. I love to cook but it’s fun to try new gf products. When we get used to one store or the dry goods on Amazon, we fall into a rut. So it’s time to break out. Each Friday I will be posting about new products, websites and other finds that I would like to share with the gluten-free/celiac community. I hope you enjoy and please post your own finds and thoughts in the comment section below.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. drbeagleman permalink
    December 3, 2010 1:07 pm

    Love this post. Glad you are able to keep up your Oreo-eating tradition!

Leave a Reply

