Skip to content

Friday Finds: Gluten-Free Bisquick

January 7, 2011

Ok, I admit, I was a little horrified when I first heard there was a Gluten-Free Bisquick. After all, I pride myself on being healthful and very conscious of nutrition. How could I start eating a product like Bisquick? What next…gluten-free hamburger helper?

Well let me just say that I was wrong in prejudging this product. The great Mama G showed up with a package of Gluten-free Bisquick to make biscuits and pan fried fish. I quickly scanned the ingredients and saw that they were mostly identical to what I use in my own kitchen (rice flour, sugar, leavening, salt and xantham gum). While these aren’t sourced from organic ingredients, they are far less horrifying than the product I had imagined it to be filled with trans fats and hydrolyzed products. Also surprising were the resulting fabulous biscuits. Easy to make, delicious to eat and stored perfectly for breakfast the day after. I highly recommend this product to anyone who is a seasoned gluten-free chef or new to this dietary lifestyle.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

