Skip to content

Gluten-free Pancakes

January 17, 2011

This past year, since creating Gluten Free Table, I have met many new comers to the gluten-free lifestyle. Many of them expressed frustration at living a gluten-free life. Those who have had inconclusive results returned for celiac testing have asked me if the lifestyle is worth it. I always respond that of course it is worth it. I tell them how I feel so much better, and then I usually go on to say how easy it is once you get the hang of cooking gluten-free.

Well tonight’s article is a humble one. Tonight I have to admit that sometimes it isn’t easy to be gluten-free. As much as I try to tell people that it is really easy and that once you understand the ratios, you will be a pro, sometimes your recipes fail you and you just can’t figure out why.

I used to love making pancakes. When I went gluten-free I even developed a recipe that worked pretty well but sadly, never wrote it down. For months now, I have been determined to make pancakes, and for months I have failed. Each new attempt returned greasy lead weights that quickly made their way into the garbage can. How could my attempts be failing? Surely I am a better gluten-free cook now then I was 5 years ago, right?

I am excited to report that after many months of frustration, I finally cracked the code. Forget about using a blend of flours, just go with brown rice flour. Simple and easy, yet I had been complicating the process for months. Suddenly, light and fluffy gluten-free blueberry pancakes sprang from my griddle. This simple breakfast has been a humbling process and an important reminder to me. I had forgotten the days of 3 hour grocery store trips, carefully reading every label because I was still learning what contained gluten and not knowing what reacted poorly to xanthan gum. Being a great cook takes a lot of work, practice, flops and patience. For those of us who go gluten-free later in life, we suddenly have to learn how a whole new set of ingredients work together. I guess this weekend helped me remember that it’s all about the journey. Savor the meals that come out perfectly, and for those that flop, well, that’s why you keep an Amy’s Pizza in the freezer!

Gluten-Free Pancakes

3/4 cup milk

2 tbl melted butter

1 egg

1 cup + 4 tbl brown rice flour

1 tsp baking powder

2 tablespoons turbinado sugar

1/2 tsp salt

blueberries (optional)

Directions:

Beat milk, butter and eggs in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and mix to incorporate. Use a griddle if you have one or else use a skillet on medium-low heat. Melt a little butter. When the skillet is warm, pour the batter onto it. I use about 1/4 cup of batter per pancake. Sprinkle a tablespoon of blueberries on top if desired. Flip the pancakes when the tops are full of bubbles and the bottom has lightly browned. Cook until both sides are brown. This recipe will yield about 10 pancakes. Serve with maple syrup or applesauce and enjoy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

