Skip to content

Friday Finds: Gluten-free Chocolate

February 11, 2011

In honor of Valentines Day, I thought I would use this week’s gluten-free Friday Finds to talk about a food that is very near and dear to my heart, chocolate. I love chocolate, deep, one bite melts in your mouth and you feel bliss. But it can’t be just any chocolate. You will not find me chowing down on a Hershey’s bar (although I have been known to mix up a batch of m&m salad for a party!). I require quality gluten-free chocolate made of rich, dark, 60% cocoa.

Here are a few of my favorites gluten-free chocolate treats:

Dove Dark Chocolate Promises
Some homes have stores of water, batteries and canned soup in case of emergencies. We keep Dove Dark Chocolate Promises on hand. They are like little squares of serenity, filled with rich, smooth chocolate. Perfect for an afternoon pick-me-up or an end of the day treat. These little squares are perfect for quantity control to satisfy any craving.

Green & BlacksGreen & Blacks Organic Chocolate – Hazelnut & Currant
I usually don’t go for dried fruit and chocolate. Most of the time I find it sicky sweet and usually the chocolate is milk chocolate, which I have little interest in. But Green and Black’s Hazelnut & Currant is an exception to the rule. The currents are little bursts of sunshine snuggled next to crunchy hazelnuts smothered in velvety dark chocolate. This chocolate will not let you down. Just a few bites are enough to satisfy. Savor this decadent bar over the course of a few days or share the love with those around you!

SunSpire SundropsSunSpire Sundrops
I discovered Sundrops when I was working at the Wild Oats Co-op in Wellesley, MA. In general, any chance to add bright colors to my clothes or food is an opportunity I do not turn down. However, I am generally cautious about how many petrochemicals I consume. These M&M alternatives are a delicious fun, colorful exception to my no milk chocolate rule. As their website states, “their bright candy color comes from beet juice, beta carotene and natural caramel.” So beets, does that mean I can count a bowl of Sundrops as a salad? Please note that Sundrops are not certified gluten-free. That said, I have never had a problem eating these colorful treats.

Chocolove Rich Dark Chocolate Bar
Don’t mistake Chocolove for a simple bar of chocolate. If this bar were a fine wine, I would describe it as full bodied. It is rich, and complex at 65% cocoa with “subtle hints of fruit and vanilla” that leave your tongue highly satisfied.

So this Valentines Day, whether you are single or in a relationship, treat yourself, and the ones that you, love to a fabulous bar of chocolate.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 13, 2011 4:49 pm

    Thanks for these chocolates updates!! I also love Green’s & Black’s Organic chocolates a lot & also this one. I love the flavours in this bark of chocolate.

Leave a Reply

