Skip to content

Gluten-free BBQ Chicken

March 7, 2011

Gluten-free BBQ Chicken

It was a frustrating trip to Wholefoods and Trader Joes this weekend as I searched endlessly for chicken thighs but to no avail, I came up short. In need of a substitute, I grabbed chicken legs and hoped for the best. Upon returning home, I decided that this twist in my plan, called for a change in recipe. This was a sign I was meant to try something new, throw in a monkey wrench and create a little culinary experiment.

Thus resulted a new fabulous homemade gluten-free BBQ sauces and oven baked sweet potato fries. This sauce is very flavorful and so good I forsook my napkin and licked the sauce of my fingers, determined not to miss a drop! It is easy, corn-syrup free and seems to get better each day. I hope you enjoy.

Gluten-free BBQ Sauce Ingredients

Spray a broiler pan with canola oil. Roast 1 lb of chicken legs or thighs on the broiler pan at 425 for 20 min. Turn and roast 20 minutes longer. While the chicken bakes, bring the gluten-free BBQ sauce ingredients to a boil on the stove, stirring continuously until blended and thick. Bake the chicken until it is golden brown. Place the chicken in a glass or ceramic dish and coat with the sauce. Serve and enjoy. This dish gets better after 24 hours so if you have the time, let it sit overnight in the fridge. When ready to eat, bake in the oven at 425 for 10-15 minutes, uncovered, watching carefully so as not to burn.

Gluten-free Sweet Potato Fries

Slice a sweet potato into 1/4 inch thick rounds. Spray a crisper or baking pan with olive oil. Spread the sweet potato on the pan and spray with  olive oil. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes. Turn the sweet potato rounds, sprinkle with salt and bake for 10 more minutes until golden. Try dipping the fries in the BBQ sauce instead of using ketchup. Just another way to enjoy this tasty tasty gluten-free BBQ sauce.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 2:10 am

    I’ve never heard of gluten free BBQ Chicken, but I am definitely interested in making this. I love BBQ Chicken as it is, but this recipe has definitely caught my attention. Thanks for posting this, I really enjoyed reading it.

    • March 8, 2011 7:20 am

      Thanks for the comment. I hope you enjoy the recipe. It will probably also be good on pulled chicken (or pork) or ribs. While there are many bottled BBQ sauces that are now gluten-free, it is nice to have a corn syrup free option. We have two drumsticks left in the fridge and we are going to savor every last bite!

Leave a Reply

